• Rox's Picks
  • Posts
  • The right way to listen to Steve Jobs' 2005 commencement speech

The right way to listen to Steve Jobs' 2005 commencement speech

No, it's not about "finding your passion"

The speech was delivered after Steve Jobs’ cancer diagnosis and successful treatment. This speech, viewed over 30 million times on YouTube, popularized the quotes “stay hungry, stay foolish” and “connect the dots looking back.”

However, if you’ve read Cal Newport’s book So Good They Can’t Ignore You, then like me, you don’t agree with the idea of “follow your passion”.

Instead, I use this speech as a recurring reminder to sate my curiosity and to love learning. To allow myself to pursue my creative interests, even if there is no monetary reward in the short term. To loosen up on the planning and to let go because the dots “don’t connect looking forward, they connect looking back.”

Hope this gives you a little creative boost this week.